RJD full form | what is the full form of RJD

The Rashtriya Janata Dal(abbreviated as RJD; Translation :National People’s Party() is an Indian Political party with its headquarters in the state Bihar And Jharkhand. In 1997, the party was founded by Lalu Prasad Yadav.

RJD’s mass base has always been Upper OBC, Muslims, and Dalits. RJD was recognized as a national party in 2008 after its performance in the north-eastern states. RJD was decognised on 30 July 2010.

UNIq Car 3D Flag Rashtriya Janata Dal- RJD Car Decor with Double Made of  Aluminium. (Only Flag) : Amazon.in: Garden & Outdoors



Lalu Prasad Yadav and Raghuvansh Prasad Sing, Mohammad Shahabuddin and Mohammad Shahabuddin formed Rashtriya Janata Dal. It was formed as breakaway of Janata Dal. Lalu Prasad was elected the first president for RJD. It is a center-left party.

RJD won 17 Lok Sabha seat from Bihar in the 1998 national elections. However, it failed to gain significant ground in any other state. The party formed an alliance later that year with Mulayam Singh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party to form an anti-Bharatiya Janata Party secular coalition, but it failed to win widespread support.


RJD lost 10 Lok Sabha seats, including Lalu Prasad Yadav’s seat in the October 1999 election.

In the 2000 state elections, however, it performed well, winning a majority of the seats in the state assembly in Bihar. Continuing its upswing in electoral fortunes, the party won 24 Lok Sabha seats in the 2004 elections that it fought in alliance with Indian National Congress. From 2004 to May 2009, it was part of the Indian National Congress-led United Progressive Alliance, where Lalu Yadav held office as Minister of Railways.

See also  SRS Full Form Hindi| What is the Sample Registration System (SRS)?

In February 2005 Bihar Legislative Assembly election RJD won only 75 seats and lost the power. RJD won only 54 seats in the subsequent state elections. This was due to no party being able form a government at that time.

The 2009 Indian general elections saw the RJD break its alliance with UPA after seat sharing negotiations failed. RJD formed an alliance with Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party, and Mulayam Singh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party. This was dubbed “Fourth Front” by the media. RJD performed poorly and won just four seats, all of them in Bihar. However, in 2010 Assembly election, the RJD did not continue their alliance with Samajwadi Party.

RJD returned to UPA in 2014 Indian general elections and contested election with alliance with Indian National Congress (INC) and Nationalist Congress Party of Bihar. RJD will contest 27 of the 40 Bihar seats. INC will contest 12 seats and NCP one. RJD won four of the total forty Loksabha seat in Bihar.

The Mahagathbandhan (Grand Alliance)

The RJD (Random Jove), Janata Dal(United), Janata Dal. (Secular), Indian National Lok Dal and Samajwadi Janata Party announced on 14 April 2015 that they would merge to form a national Janata Parivar alliance to fight the BJP.

Rajesh Ranjan was expelled by the RJD for six years on 7 May 2015. He had been accused of anti-RJD activities. However, rumors suggested that he might join the Biju Janata Dal in the 2015 Bihar Legislative Assembly election. Instead, he created a new party called Jan Adhikar Party.

RJD was the single largest party in November 2015 with 80 seats. Janata Dal (United), BJP, 53 seats, and Congress each had 27 seats. BJP was first in terms of vote share with 24.4%. RJD came second with 18.4% and JD (U) 16.8%, while Congress received 6.7%. Janata Dal (United),’s Nitish Kumar was elected the Chief Minister, while Lalu’s son Tejashwi Yodav became Deputy Chief Ministers for Bihar.

See also  PSI का फुल फॉर्म क्या है? | What is the full form of PSI?

After the corruption case against Tejashwi Yadav in July 2017, Nitish Kumar requested Yadav to resign as cabinet member. RJD refused. To protect his image of corruption, Nitish Kul resigned from the cabinet on 26 July 2017.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *