Mammals Name List in English with Pictures

Check out this list of mammals. These mammals pictures and names will help you expand your vocabulary about animals in English.

There are many reasons you might need to know the names of mammals in English. Perhaps you work with them or simply have an interest in them. Mammals are animals that give birth to young and live on the land.

There are mammals that can live in water, such as whales and dolphins. This section will help you learn mammal names in English.


Mammal (class Mammalia), Any member of the vertebrate group in which the young receive milk from the special mammary glands. … The lower jaw of the mammalian mammalian is hinged directly to its skull instead of via a separate bone (the Quadrate), as in all vertebrates.

List of Mammals

  • Blue whale
  • Lion
  • Giant panda
  • Cow
  • Dog
  • Ass
  • Tiger
  • Cat
  • Bat
  • Deer
  • Dolphin
  • Wolverine
  • Elephant
  • Giraffe
  • Horse
  • Wolf
  • Fox
  • Bear
  • Kangaroo
  • Armadillo
  • Cheetah
  • Gorilla
  • Leopard
  • Monkey

Mammals in Water

  • Whales
  • Dolphin
  • Seal
  • Walruses
  • Manatees
  • Dugongs

Blue whale

Whales are mammals. Blue whales are the largest mammal on Earth and the largest living species. It is also known as marine mammals because it lives in the oceans.

blue whale


The lion is the largest mammal in Animalia and one of the most dangerous. These large mammals were heavy and lived in grasslands, other grasslands, and herb areas.


Giant Panda

A mammal known as a panda bear and found mostly in the bamboo forest, the Giant Panda is a mammal known as a panda. Near the eyes and ears, it looks like a combination of white and black colors.

See also  Collective Nouns Exercises - Worksheet


Cows are also known as cattle or bulls. They are large domesticated ungulates and mammals. These mammals come in many colors.



Dogs are considered the most loyal of all animal species. They also give birth to their young children. It is the most loved domestic animal in the entire world.



Ass is one member of the horse family. It is also a mammal that is sometimes called a donkey.



The largest cat species in the Panthera genus is the tiger. The little cubs are the offspring of a Tiger.



The cat is a domestic, small mammal that lives in the home. It is a carnivore’s pet and likes to drink milk from its kitchen.



Only bats can give birth directly to their young. They are part of the Chiroptera order.



According to the Cervidae, the deer is the hoofed ruminant mammal from the Cervidae family. Reindeer are female deer.



Dolphins are aquatic mammals that have a small mouth like a beak. This allows them to swim with ease. These mammals evolved from land mammals.



Because elephants have milk and hair, they are mammals. These animals are vertebrates that have the characteristics of mammals.



The giraffe can be called an African mammal. It is both the tallest terrestrial animal, and the tallest ruminant.



Two subspecies of Equus Ferus include horses. These are ungulate mammals with odd-toes that belong to the taxonomic Family Equidae.



The grey wolf is also known as wolves. It is a non-domestic subspecies of wolves and a mammal that lives in dense forests. Wolves can also be described as having dog-like structures.

See also  10 Study Skills for Exam Success


Foxes are small mammals of medium size that are omnivorous mammal species that belong to the Canidae genera. They resemble a dog with their flat skulls and triangular ears. Their long bushy tails are reminiscent of a dog.



The Ursidae family includes the bear, a carnivorous mammal. Caniforms are bears, also known as dog-like canivores.


Kangaroo is an animal of the Macropodidae family, which is used for describing the largest species in this family. They are one of the most well-known mammal species in the animal kingdom.



Armadillos, new world Placental mammals of the Cingulata order, are called Armadillos. It is covered in sloths and anteaters.



The gorilla is the largest mammal known to exist in the world. It is closer to humans than chimpanzees. Ground-dwelling apes that mainly eat plants and fruit as food, they are also ground-dwelling.



One of the species in the genus Panthera is the leopard. This mammal is also known as panther, a crossbreed between lion and pard. Later, it was called leopard.



Monkeys are arboreal mammals that are well-adapted to monkeys. They are five-toed and plantigrade.



Dugongs are large, grey-colored mammals that live their whole lives at sea. They can grow to three metres in length and weigh up to 400 kilograms when fully grown. Dugongs swim by using their long, whale-like tails and their flippers to move their arms and legs. The bristles closest to the mouth are the only hairs of Dugongs.

Some characteristic features of the mammals

  • Mammals are warm-blooded creatures or animals whose young can easily survive by drinking milk from their mothers’ mammary glands.
  • Mammary glands are not present in all mammals, except male mammals. Only female mammals have mammary glands that produce milk for their young ones.
  • Mammals possess a unique ability that is not found in other animals. They can live in trees, on land, water or down in the earth.
  • Mammals have skin with many glands like sweat glands and mammary glands.
  • They give birth to their young, rather than laying eggs as other animals like birds and reptiles. Some mammals lay eggs, like Echidna and Platypus, but not all mammals give birth to their young.
  • Mammals are strong because they have strong bones and visible ears. The majority of mammals have teeth.
  • Because mammals have a backbone (also known as a spine), they are called vertebrate mammals.
See also  Types of Education: Formal, Informal & Non-formal

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *